This is closely related to Kapalabathi. Unlike Kapalabathi, where both nostrils are used for breathing in and breathing out, only one nostril is used at a time. To enable this regulation, the fingers of the right hand are used in Mrigi mudra. The pranayama is of two kinds: VOLOMA and ANULOMA. In the case of


Jalandhara Bandha

Take the chin four angulas below the neck, press it firmly against the chest and maintain this position. Benefits: Cleans all the nadis and cakras located in the following regions: the four big toes and fingers, the top of the heel, the knees, the thighs, the genitals, the navel, the chest, the neck, the midbrow,

Jalandhara Bandha Read More »

Uddiyana bandha

When the middle part of the body is tightly stretched and the prana-vayu, which is the basis of life, moves in the form of a fine thread up the spinal column to the brahma-randhra (the center of the brain) in the susumna nadi, it is called uddyyana bandha. Draw in the navel in such a

Uddiyana bandha Read More »

Mula bandha (root lock)

With the left heel, firmly press the kandasthana which is between the rectum and the genitals and pull the heel in tightly in order to close the anus. Pull in the stomach firmly and press it against the bones in the back (the spine). Bring in the right heel and place it on top of

Mula bandha (root lock) Read More »

The three bandhas

1. Mule bandha, 2. Uddijana bandha and 3. Jalandhara bandha. The meaning of the word bandha is: to bind, lock, close. When we practice yoga called pranayama, the middle part of our body from the base of the reproductive organs to our neck must be voluntarily bound. Without the three bandhas, we certainly cannot achieve

The three bandhas Read More »

What are the Chakras?

The kundalini, as we know, rises from muladhara chakra through five further chakras to sahasrara chakra, so in all we have seven chakras. However, the seven stations are not simply traversed progressively one after the other, in the natural course of systematic practice. We run into some difficulties here, for each chakra is assigned to

What are the Chakras? Read More »


Kundalini is the Divine cosmic energy. The world is derived from ‘kundala’, meaning a ring or coil. The latent energy is symbolised as a sleeping serpent with three and a half coils; it has its tail in its mouth, which faces downwards. It lies at the hollow base of the susumna, two digits below the

What is KUNDALINI? Read More »

What is PRANA?

Prana is something which each individual is born with. It is capable of being exercised and strengthened just as our limbs, intellect and mind can. During the exercising of prana, external air comes into play, but prana should not be identified or mistaken with the air we breathe. Prana is attached to the body, and

What is PRANA? Read More »